Early Mornings

While I was still in school, it was very hard for me to wake up so early in the morning.  My father is the one who wakes us up by opening the room lights.  I can clearly remember his booming voice.  It was kind of a rude awakening everyday for 11 straight years.  (My father was in the military and I figured that was the way they are awaken in the barracks.)

I also remember that it was also joyful to wake up at the sound of an AM radio that gave us a hint that there was a storm and we didn’t have to go to school.

Now that I’m all grown up and playing responsible, I don’t need any rude awakenings from my father  (but I truly miss it).  I am the one who wakes up by myself.  And I refrain from being groggy when I wake up.  Instead, I’m up and running and looking at the time all the time.  Unlike school, I cannot be late for work.  It will cost me a lot.

Also, I don’t hear the AM radio in the morning anymore looking out for storm signals.  It wouldn’t bring me joy like before because I still have to go to work, with or without a storm.

This is just part of being a grown up.  Before, I have anticipated and I was anxious about it at the same time.  But now, I’m here.  It’s not so scary anymore.  You’re too busy to be scared when you’re an adult.  I love it.

What I don’t like about being all of this is that I don’t think my dad knows how much we still need him.  It would really be nice to let him know that we need to hear from him everyday.  I miss my father.  It’s hard to miss someone who’s physically present but so far away.  Sigh!

2 Responses to “Early Mornings”

  1. Waking up early never was one of my forte. It was a miracle (now that I think of it) that in my last work I was able to pretty much come on time everyday even when the schedule started at 6AM. 😛

Leave a Reply

